Put me in Coach, I’m Ready to Play!

According to the Think Thin Book (otherwise known as the Beck Diet Solution Bible) it is now time to enlist the help of a DIET COACH. Why?? Dr. Beck writes the following:

Few people who have struggled with dieting can lose weight and sustain that weight loss without the help and encouragement from another person.

A lot of us like to keep our weight loss efforts to ourselves. I know in the past I have not publicized being on a diet because if I failed, I might have to explain to someone why I am such a loser (or non-loser to be exact.) In reality a DIET COACH can provide support in situtations when will power is simply not enough. Dr. Beck writes that they can keep you motivated, build your self-confidence, help you solve problems, keep you accountable and help you take a more useful perspective.

I considered lots of people before choosing my DIET COACH. I thought about this guy:

thebear.jpg

But he is too busy answering prayers to be bothered with my problems. Anyway, can you imagine what one of my “coaching” sessions would sound like? The conversation would probably sound something like this:

SFF: Coach Bryant, my self esteem has been damaged by my lack of will power. What do you suggest I do?

BEAR: Rub some dirt on it.

SFF: Umm, OK. You know, late at night these very powerful cravings come into my house and take over my self control. Any advice?

BEAR: You show those cravings NO ONE and I mean NO ONE comes in our house and makes fools of us! Now get out there and act like you’ve been there before!

SFF: Wow thanks! I’m number one, I’m number one!!

I then march out of the room chanting and the Bear pats me on the butt.

In reality it would help if I pick a DIET COACH that is alive. Dr. Beck has a few good suggestions for finding the right DIET COACH:

  • Pick a close friend or family member. You could even get them to start The Beck Diet Solution with you
  • Join an organized group. Probably something like Weight Watchers, TOPS, or even Overeaters Anonymous. You could even start your own support group at your office, church or gym
  • Seek support from a professional, such as a nutritionist, pshychiatrist or therapist
  • Seek internet support. Most of the big weight loss programs offer some sort of on-line support or membership. Fatblogging is an option

I’ve decided to combine two of the options. Since beginning my blog I’ve been really surprised and pleased with all the support and comments I’ve received from complete strangers going through the same thing I am. At first, I wasn’t going to tell anyone but FatHubby what I was doing, but then I was becoming quite proud of my little blog here and decided to share it with my friends, family and coworkers. That means I had to expose them to this. The response from people I know has been great! It has motivated me to keep after my goal. Since people I know have been commenting on the blog and asking me in real life how my plan is going, my DIET COACH’S are the online community and my friends and family. In case I need some “one on one” coaching, I am picking FatHubby. He is pretty tough, understanding and convenient.:-)

The Bear did leave something that will help me in the weight loss game:

“If you believe in yourself and have dedication and pride – and never quit, you’ll be a winner. The price of victory is high but so are the rewards.”

Bear Bryant

 

And to all of you that could not care less about football, thanks for indulging me.

5 Comments

Filed under SFF

5 responses to “Put me in Coach, I’m Ready to Play!

  1. Lori

    I loved the Bear Bryant reference (and I love the advice “rub some dirt on it”).

    You are a brave person. First of all, I don’t own a two piece swimsuit and I’ve only recently announced my weight to the world. Brava to you!

    I’ve made a lot of great friends here on the net with my blog (I share another one with two others called Angry Fats Girlz) and I couldn’t be successful without their help. Good luck on your journey and I’m here rooting for you.

  2. If Coach Bryant was my diet coach I’d be at my goal weight by now!

    ROLL TIDE!

  3. Bob Wieder

    I write the occasional droll posting for CalorieLab News and have been writing humor professionally for over 30 years. CalLab had a link to your blog and I chanced upon this entry. It’s nice. It’s funny and clever. You are to be encouraged. Do more. Regards.

    Thank you for the kind words. Funny AND clever?? too much pressure. I think I will stick with “snarky”
    SFF

  4. Pingback: On a Positive Note, I Only Paid for One Seat « Southern Fried Fatty

Leave a Reply

